Logo Text

Partners and patrons

KHM’s Board of Trustees

The academy receives advice und support through a board of trustees, which was first constituted in autumn 1991 under the chairmanship of the former Mayor of Cologne, Norbert Burger. It is chaired today by Mayor Henriette Reker.

Members: Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior (Director of Museum Ludwig), Marc Jan Eumann (State Chancellery NRW), Gesche Gehrmann (Rheinenergie cultural foundation), Dr. Lutz Hachmeister (HMR International), Susanne Laugwitz-Aulbach (Head of City of Cologne’s Cultural Office), Petra Müller (Manager of Film und Medien Stiftung NRW), Frank Olbert (Deputy Head of Culture, Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger), Jörg Schönenborn (Head of Television, WDR), Michael Weber (Managing Director of The Match Factory)

Verein der Freunde der KHM e.V.

The Verein der Freunde und Förderer e. V. supports the artistic interests of the KHM as a non-profit association under the chairmanship of Henrik R. Hanstein. Countless student projects, publications and excursions have profited and continue to profit from the associations donations. It also donates and awards the scholarship award for special artistic achievement every year.
Scholarship prize (Freunde der KHM e.V.):
(2010) Alfons Knogl, Isabelle Prahl; (2011) Simon Paetau; (2012) Sina Seifee and Gerald Schauder; (2013) Rozbeh Asmani and Vera Drebusch; (2014) Ali Chakav, Nieves De La Fuente Gutiérrez and Angelika Herta; (2015) Fabian Epe, Stephanie Glauber, Milica Lopicic, Mia Matz, Rahel Pötsch, Hermes Villena

Contact: / +49 221 20189 111

The KHM’s collaboration with academies and others

The KHM maintains numerous collaborations with institutions both nationally and internationally, too many to name them all here.

Of special mention is the DAAD’s ISAP (International Study and Training Partnerships) programme, which funds guest students at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia (UNAL) in Bogotá (Colombia).

The DAAD prize also supports the outstanding achievement of international students: Irina Kurtischwili (1996), Kosit Juntaratip (1998), Anselm Weidmann (1997), Josit Kuntaratip (1998), Katja Davar (1999), Angélique Dubois (2006), Menachem Roth (2007), Karolina Kot (2008), Aino Korvensyrjä (2009), Maman Salissou Oumarou (2010), Anna Gonzalez Suero (2011), Sina Seifee (2012), Ale Bachlechner (2013), Ali Chakav (2015).

For many years an exchange collaboration, conceived as intercultural project work, has existed with the Escuela Internacional de Cine y TV de San Antonio de los Banños (EICTV) in Havana (Cuba). 

Since 1991 the KHM has had the chance to present current student work on a special stand at the international art fair Art Cologne.  

KHM Memberships

- Bundesverband des Deutschen Kurzfilms: The AG-Kurzfilm was formed in 2002 as a national lobby group for German short film, with its headquarters in Dresden. It is funded by German Films München and the Federal Government’s Commissioner for Culture and Media.

- Medienwerk NRW:  has existed since 2001 as an open, cross-sector network of various media art locations and institutions in NRW, which exhibit an emphasis in the area of media art. The network is supported by NRW State Chancellery.

- The Institut für Medienpolitik (IfM) has regularly put on media political discussions touching on the issues of the moving image in cinema, TV and the Internet at the KHM since 2015.

Spiridon-Neven-DuMont Prize (1998 to 2015)

Since 1998 Alfred and Hedwig Neven DuMont have donated the annual Spiridon-Neven-DuMont prize (7,500 Euro) for an outstanding young artist from among the students at the Academy of Media Arts. Thanks for this long time sponsorship.

Prizewinners: (1998) Ursula Damm and Britta Wandaogo, (1999) Heike Mutter, (2000) Klaus Fritze, (2001) Jan Krüger, Oliver Schwabe, (2002) Aurelia Mihai, (2003) Anja Struck, (2004) Philipp Goldbach, (2005) Christian Keinstar, (2006) Yanick Fournier, (2008) Martin Hesselmeier, (2009) Hans Diernberger, (2010) Pauline M’barek, (2011) Jens Pecho, (2012) Philipp Hamann, (2013) Lukas Marxt; (2014) Johannes Post; (2015) Diana Menestrey S.

Address / headquarter

Academy of Media Arts Cologne
Peter-Welter-Platz 2
D-50676  Cologne
Fon: +49 221 20189 - 0
Fax: +49 221 20189 - 17

Rector's Office

Susanne Hackländer
Fon: +49-221-20189-111

Assistant to the Rectorate
Heidrun Hertell
Fon: +49-221-20189-130

Press / PR office

Academy of Media Arts Cologne
Peter-Welter-Platz 2
D-50676 Köln
Fon: +49 221 20189 - 135 / - 330
Fax: +49 221 20189 - 49135

Fire Protection Officer

Markus Fabricius

Tel.: +49 221 20189 – 264

Guard duty

Fon: +49 221 20189 - 105
Mobil: +49 173 7480228

Website administration


Please wait